Trying to Join the Frugal Club

romans 13v8
…this mountain of snow in front of me reminded me of our mountain of debt

My husband and I have an ongoing joke about how neither one of us are going to be let into the frugal club. He nagged me into quitting my Starbucks habit, claiming he brings his coffee and lunch from home everday. To which I replied – ‘darling, if you think they are going to let you into the Frugal Club because you ‘brown-bag’ it, you are kidding yourself. Meanwhile, we live in a large home, with 2 Toyotas in the garage (well now one), not to mention a boat, we have 4 cell phones, 4 tvs, 2 desktops and 2 laptops. That is not living frugal!’ But the message hit home to both of us.

Slowly (and finally!) we are truly changing the way we think about money and about our stuff. It is not going to happen over night. We have just sold our 2011 Toyota Camry Hybrid and for now, we are a one-car family. I have given up my Starbucks habit and menu-planning is working out well for our busy family. Next on the list of things to tackle – the utility bills!

Proverbs 3:9-10
9 Honor the Lord with your wealth
and with the firstfruits of all your produce;
10 then your barns will be filled with plenty,
and your vats will be bursting with wine.

2 thoughts on “Trying to Join the Frugal Club

  1. Yes, one thing at a time … that’s what we’re learning. I love the verses you share because it’s a good reminder, not just to live frugally for frugality’s sake, but for God’s glory and honor.

Leave a Reply

