Fighting the Blues – How to get healthier – mentally

rejoice always

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please seek professional help if you think you may be suffering from real depression.

In the previous post – Fighting the Blues – Know Your Warning Signs – I talked about things that I know are little warning lights for ME, to try and get back on track mentally.

In order for me to try and improve my own mental health, I need to know what kinds of things give me mental strength and bring rest and healing to mind. I think this is a VERY personal subject, and I can only write about the things that I have learned about myself.

1. Saying NO. When I am fighting my way to get better, I need to say no to everything that is non-essential, even good things.
2. Physical health basics such as 8 hours of sleep, eating properly.
3. Setting and guarding my boundaries.
4. Ensure that I continue to take my vitamins, medications etc.
5. Praying and claiming my anchor verses.

Anchor Verses

I have a few verses that I cling to when needed.

Phil 4:6-7
6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Isaiah 51:11-12
11 And the ransomed of the LORD shall return
and come to Zion with singing;
everlasting joy shall be upon their heads;
they shall obtain gladness and joy,
and sorrow and sighing shall flee away.
12 “I, I am he who comforts you

Psalm 27:4-5
4 One thing have I asked of the LORD,
that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
and to inquire[a] in his temple.
5 For he will hide me in his shelter
in the day of trouble;
he will conceal me under the cover of his tent;
he will lift me high upon a rock.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Revelation 21:4
4 He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

What verses do you cling to?

(This is the 2nd post in a series about mental health, the 1st was Fighting the Blues – Knowing Your Warning Signs)

3 thoughts on “Fighting the Blues – How to get healthier – mentally

  1. Pingback: Fighting the Blues – Maintaining Good Mental Health | Belle Faith

Leave a Reply

