Memorizing Scripture – My Best Tips

This is the third in a series about Memorizing Scripture.
The 1st in the series was Why is it Important?
The 2nd was You are in Good Company

Slide10

Jesus Himself said:
“Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.” (Matthew 4:4)

Pick a favourite chapter and commit to memorizing the whole thing. It can be a Psalm, Philipians 4, Romans 8, Sermon on the Mount (Matt 5-7) and see how God uses you.

The Brain is a MUSCLE!
At first it will feel difficult and awkward, but the brain is a muscle that will develop with regular training. It used to take me 2-3 times the amount of time to learn verses as my quizzing children, but now, it amazes me how quickly I can learn several verses at once! I find this has helped me in other areas of my life – even non-spiritual such as learning French.

Fun Tools to Help you Memorize

32 Ways to Memorize Scripture by Mark Driscoll

How to Memorize Scripture by CARM (Christian Apologetics and Research Ministry)

www.scripturetyper.com or Scripture Typer App
http://www.memverse.com or using dictation on the iPad

Slide11
from one of my favourite Casting Crowns songs – The Word is Alive

Back Logo

2 thoughts on “Memorizing Scripture – My Best Tips

  1. Thanks Heather! It’s another #preachingtomyself blog. The links are there for me to find also! Everyone learns differently so the link to the post from Mark Driscoll I thought was really cool.

Leave a Reply

