When Interpreting His Word isn’t a Simple Matter

1 cor 13v9

I LOVE God’s word dearly, I want to know it better, I want to have more of it memorized, I want to know what God is trying to say to us.

But – confession – I don’t know it nearly as well as someone who has been a Christian as long as I have should know it. I wasted my 20s not bothering much. I have the Sunday school stories down pat, but it’s taken the last decade or so to get a an adult handle on some pretty basic concepts.

I have a business/computer degree, no theological training whatsoever. I just have this love for His word. I want to dig deeper, I want to search and google and find out what other more biblical scholars have to say about a particular passage or on a certain subject.

This is a glorious age for us to discover and be taught by great orators and pastors of mega churches through podcasts and YouTube etc.

But we also must be diligent to choose wisely who we ‘follow’ as my own pastor likes to warn us.

But in the end, only God’s Word is living and active. My own interpretation may be something I feel God has laid on my heart but what if it doesn’t line up with a ‘more spiritual person’s’ interpretation, someone who I trusted and followed?

I just read a portion of 1 Cor 13 over on Chris Martin’s blog in the Message translation and found it appropriate here:

1 Corinthians 13:8-10 Love never dies. Inspired speech will be over some day; praying in tongues will end; understanding will reach its limit. We know only a portion of the truth, and what we say about God is always incomplete. But when the Complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled.

This verse helped me see that each of us humans can only ever know a portion of the truth. So while I believe that God’s Word is the absolute truth, I neither can trust that what I believe to be what God is saying is the whole truth, nor is what another person is saying.

HOWEVER, We need to treat our fellow christians with grace.

4 thoughts on “When Interpreting His Word isn’t a Simple Matter

  1. Yes! Yes! So encouraged to hear your heart for the Word. “This verse helped me see that each of us humans can only ever know a portion of the truth” We know in part, but soon, we shall know in whole. So thankful that God gave us his Word.

Leave a Reply

