Joy! The antidote to negativity

kaitlin and Emily - Joy

Psalm 30:4-5 Sing to the Lord, O you saints of His, and give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name. For His anger is but for a moment, but His favor is for a lifetime or in His favor is life. Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.

Notice once again – give thanks….

But sometimes you also have to conscientiously remove yourself from a negative situation, a negative environment and even choose to walk away from a friendship with a negative environment.

Because I am an empathetic person, I have to be careful, ask God to guard my heart. If I am to help someone, I am of no help to them if I fall into the pit with them. I can very easily get caught up in someone else’s pity party or negative black hole.

My name means source of Joy. That means I need to choose Joy for myself as well as be strong enough and have enough joy to help others.

There is an interview with Kay Warren at Today’s Christian Woman yesterday on depression and how she learned what true joy is here.

http://www.todayschristianwoman.com/articles/2014/may-week-2/kay-warren-on-depression-grief-and-hope.html

Have you ever had to remove yourself from a negative situation or person?

How do you choose joy?

Joy as the antidote to negativity is part of my strategy for Maintaining Good Mental Health

One thought on “Joy! The antidote to negativity

  1. Pingback: Fighting the Blues – Maintaining Good Mental Health | Belle Faith

Leave a Reply

