Still Waters and Green Pastures

God seems to be trying to speak to me about rest (still, or again…) because I keep running across other peoples blogs and articles about rest and sabbath.

I saw the movie, Mom’s Night Out Highly recommend it!!) I don’t want to give any spoiler alerts, but let’s just say, although I laughed so hard in this movie, I also SOBBED during a couple of parts. There is a part where the Mom is sobbing and telling her husband that she is happy, and has everything she ever dreamed of, she’s fine, she’s just tired.

And I have had this same conversation with my husband. More than once. Over several years.

But in the movie, the mom figures it out by the next morning.

Why, why, why, have I not figured it out???

Life is Messy, but I am a beautiful mess.

It’s a great message.

But it doesn’t mention the fact that my house is messy. I mean it is always messy.

Comparison steals your joy.

So I won’t compare my messy house to others.

But God – the house is still messy!!! not comparing doesn’t help it get any cleaner!

and days after seeing the movie, the thought of that scene still brings tears to my eyes. Even my closest friends who went to the movie with me did not seem to feel the sucker punch of that scene the same way that I did.

Why?

and in the past 7 days since seeing the movie, God has been whispering to my heart.

Maybe the house is a beautiful mess too. It’s a home. With a family that loves and respects one another and laughs together. As full-time-work-outside-the-home parents, we’ve chosen to make our kids a priority over the state of the house. As parents, we’ve shared the workload as best we can because in the end, we both just want to spend time with our kids.

So our house is a beautiful mess because it contains a beautiful family.

God says to my heart
– I am doing a good work in you. Look at your children. You work hard and honour me and I have blessed you.

And I reply with thankfulness to my faithful God. Help me to always honour you.

And then while driving alone this past weekend, and I spent many hours driving all over 3 counties this weekend which I take and am grateful for the quiet, restful, alone time, I heard Keith Green’s The Lord is my Shepherd.

And the familiar passage took on a whole new meaning for me.

(Amplified version)
Psalm 23:1-3 The Lord is my Shepherd to feed, guide, and shield me, I shall not lack. He makes me lie down in fresh, tender green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters. He refreshes and restores my life my self; He leads me in the paths of righteousness uprightness and right standing with Him—not for my earning it, but for His name’s sake.

Psalm 23:6 Surely or only goodness, mercy, and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life, and through the length of my days the house of the Lord and His presence shall be my dwelling place.

He MAKES me lie down in green pastures.
20140521-082234-30154723.jpg

He LEADS me beside the still and restful waters.

20140521-081839-29919853.jpg

20140521-081840-29920914.jpg

Leave a Reply

