Quick Help for when Rumination Strikes

Overall, I believe that gratitude and thankfulness are huge parts of staying mentally healthy.  All the verses I come across clearly say that we are to be giving thanks to God FIRST before anything else in our days and in our lives.

So when I am down, I do a quick – name 3 things I am grateful right now, GO!  I have even said this to my kids on occasion when they are down.

Sometimes, however, I get in a mental rut.  My brain gets stuck.  It’s ruminating and it needs a way out.  The tires are spinning in the mud and can’t get any traction.

But here is what I have found to grab that needed traction….

a passage that I have memorized! 

I memorized Romans chapter 8 this year.  All 38 verses and I knew them fluently, including all the references.  So when my brain is in a rut, I start reciting.

written out

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

What? no condemnation? no guilt? NOPE.

For the law of the spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death. 

I am free?  YEP!  I have a spirit of life!

and so on..

For God has done what the law, weakend by the flesh, could not do. By sending His own son, in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin, he condemned sin, in the flesh.

and on I go, and if I forget something, I need to look it up.

 

 

 

And suddenly I have stopped rumination in its tracks and lifted my mind out of the miry clay.

 

Psalm 40:2-3

2 He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.

3 And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.

 

And I am grateful.

 

hope in the Lord

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Help for when Rumination Strikes

Leave a Reply

