Tempted into Depression?

We had a guest preacher a couple of weeks ago who was talking about living a godly life. It was a terrific sermon, but he made one comment that I kept circling around in my head. I don’t even remember what he said or in what context exactly but something along the lines of resisting temptation and listing some things you could be tempted into and included not being tempted into depression.

Tempted into depression?
Isn’t a temptation something that you desire?

And who on earth would want to be depressed.

And I had intended to do digging into this a little further.

Can you be tempted into depression?

And this this past Sunday, a different guest pastor was speaking on Breaking away from Fear. It was also an excellent message.

But I caught a phrase he said.

Do not be tempted into Fear.

That sounds a lot like being tempted into depression. Who wants to be fearful?? Why would that even be tempting?

Did these speakers mean tempted to succumb to our fears?
And does that work in the context of depression?
Can you be tempted to succumb to depression, as opposed to fighting it.

The Bible has many verses about not being afraid.
Are there verses about not being depressed?

I’m not sure I have a clear answer to the question yet, my dear friends. But in searching for the answer, I found this beautiful Psalm – psalm 42 that ends with this verse

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

And one of my new favourite songs this week – it is Well by Bethel Music Video

Favourite lyrics:

So let go my soul and trust in Him
The waves and wind still know His name
It is well with my soul

I think the thought I want to remember is that when my soul is downcast, I remember that the one whose name is known by the wind and the waves holds my soul and
It
Is
Well
With
Me.

http://bellefaith42.tumblr.com/post/98919266103/let-go-my-soul-the-waves-and-wind-still-know-his

Leave a Reply

